Governor Election 2018 

Voting is now open! 

Members will be contacted by the Electoral Reform Service with details on how to cast their vote. Our Notice of Poll lists all those standing for election. 

All votes must be cast by 5pm on Thursday 5th July 2018.

Would you like to make a difference by becoming a Governor? 

Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust is holding an election to the Council of Governors. This is an exciting opportunity to represent the interests of Foundation Trust members and partner organisations from the local community.

As a Governor you will be able to:

  • Ensure there is robust challenge about the strategic direction of the Trust, its vision and how it is performing
  • Share with the Board and Council the views of the local people you represent
  • Actively seeking out what they think about the services provided by Sussex Partnership
  • Participate in meetings of the Council of Governors, its Committees, Governor Training Days and Joint Council of Governors/Board of Directors to represent the views of your constituencies and undertake the statutory duties of a Governor  

The Governor role is voluntary; governors are not paid a salary but are entitled to claim expenses incurred in connection with their duties such as travel to and from meetings, training days and conferences. 


The Election process is being run by the Electoral Reform Service and voting is now open. For more information on the election processs please visit our online election platform or a paper nomination form is available by contacting the Electoral Reform Service on telephone 0208 889 9203 or by email to


In order to stand for election you must be a member of the Trust in the constituency for which you wish to be elected, and the positions that will be forming our election include: 


Service User Governor

  • Brighton & Hove (2 vacancies)
  • East Sussex (1 vacancy)
  • West Sussex (2 vacancies)
  • Outside of Sussex (2 vacancies)

Public Governor

  • Brighton & Hove (1 vacancy)
  • Outside of Sussex (2 vacancies)

Carer Governor (1 vacancy)

Staff Governor (1 vacancy)

Those who are successfully elected must attend an induction day on Thursday 12th July 2018 in Crawley, and will also be expected to attend a core skill workshop delivered by NHS Providers in London on 4 October 2018. 

Want to know more?

Our 'Thinking about becoming a Governor?' information booklet gives a good overview of the role and what will be required of you.

Why not come to a Council of Governors or Board of Directors meeting. This will give you the chance to experience how our formal meetings run; you will also have the chance to meet fellow governors and members of our board. 

The next Council of Governors meeting is taking place on 25 June 2018 and we also have a Board of Directors meeting on 23 May 2018. To register you attendance in advance please email alternatively just feel free to come along on the day, full details are here.

More information about the election process is available on the online election platform; alternatively feel free to contact Natalie Hennings, Corporate Governance Manager on email or by calling 07391 012421.   

You may find the following documents useful reading to learn more about the role: 

What is the role of a Governor
Sussex Partnership’s Constitution
NHS Providers: So you're thinking about becoming a governor
Council of Governors Meeting papers